Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore is located in South Dakota. It's a giant sculpture of American presidents carved in the side of a mountain. The sculpture was created by Gutzon Borglum. The sculpture began in 1927 and ended in 1941. The sculpture represents 150 years of history. The four presidents represented in the sculpture are George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln.





- 4. What year did the sculpting end?
- **5.** How many years did it take Borglum to sculpt Mount Rushmore? (*Hint:* You will need to use your Math skills.)
- 6. Name the 4 presidents in the sculpture?

ANSWER KEY

Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore is located in South Dakota. It's a giant sculpture of American presidents carved in the side of a mountain. The sculpture was created by Gutzon Borglum. The sculpture began in 1927 and ended in 1941. The sculpture represents 150 years of history. The four presidents represented in the sculpture are George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln.





Preview

Please log in to download the printable version of this worksheet.

Sculpting began in the year 1927.

4. What year did the sculpting end?

Sculpting ended in the year 1941.

5. How many years did it take Borglum to sculpt Mount Rushmore? (Hint: You will need to use your Math skills.)

It took him 14 years.

6. Name the 4 presidents in the sculpture?

George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln are

the 4 presidents in the sculpture.